Foreign Languages

Course Director(s): Paul Wheal, Carmen Acosta Sanchez

General Description

The learning of foreign languages is an integral part of the international training of engineering students. The objective of the Language Department is to supplement the technical and scientific knowledge of our students with excellent skills in English (first foreign language (FL1)) and a good knowledge of a second language (Spanish, German, Italian, Chinese, Russian, Japanese, Portuguese, or French as a Foreign Language). A third foreign language is also possible depending on the level.

The compulsory courses in at least two foreign languages are fully orientated towards professional life and aim in a very pragmatic way to facilitate the communication of our future engineers in an international and multi-cultural environment.

To obtain the ICM Diploma a minimum score of 800 points is required in the TOEIC test (English) or 83 points in the IBT TOEFL, along with a B2 level in the Common European Framework of Reference for languages (CEFR), certified by the School.

For the second foreign language (FL2) it is possible to validate the CEFR level by the BULATS test, taken at the School.

The ECTS credits of the Language department are divided up into 50% for the FL1 and 50% for the FL2.

Links between course units

Orientations / Associations with other courses

Key words

Foreign languages, English, Spanish, German, Italian, Chinese, Russian, Japanese, Portuguese, French as a Foreign Language

Langues vivantes

Responsable(s) : Paul Wheal, Carmen Acosta Sanchez

Description générale

L’apprentissage des langues vivantes fait partie de la formation des élèves-ingénieurs à l’international. L’objectif du Pôle Langues est de compléter les connaissances techniques et scientifiques de nos élèves par d’excellentes compétences en anglais (LV1), et une bonne maîtrise dans une deuxième langue (espagnol, allemand, italien, chinois, russe, japonais, FLE ou  portugais). Une troisième langue vivante est également possible sous condition de niveau.

L’enseignement obligatoire d’au moins deux langues étrangères est résolument orienté vers la vie professionnelle et vise de façon très pragmatique à faciliter la communication de nos futurs ingénieurs dans un milieu international et multiculturel.

Pour l’obtention du diplôme ICM un score minimum de 800 points au TOEIC (anglais) est exigé (ou 83 points au TOEFL IBT), ainsi qu’un niveau B2 du cadre européen de référence en langues (CECRL) certifié par l’Ecole.

Pour la LV2 il est possible de sanctionner son niveau CECRL par le test BULATS au sein de l’Ecole.

Les crédits ECTS du Pôle Langues sont répartis à 50% pour le LV1 et 50% pour la LV2.

Cohérence entre les unités pédagogiques du groupe pédagogique

Parcours et cohérence avec les autres groupes pédagogiques

Mots-clés

Langues vivantes, anglais, espagnol, allemand, italien, chinois, russe, japonais, portugais, FLE